Oakland Nature Preserve

Log in

Upcoming events

    • Sat, May 30, 2020
    • 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM (EDT)
    • 0
    Registration is closed

    Currently, many of our volunteer activities involves actively participating in habitat restoration as we move towards our goal of restoring the area’s native longleaf pine and sand hill habitats, as well as general preserve maintenance. Volunteer duties may include but are not limited to removing invasive plants on many of our trails, trimming plants along our boardwalk, leaf-blowing the parking lot, boardwalk, and pavilion, and various other tasks including but not limited to clerical and office work.

    General info: Because these are outdoor activities, it’s important to wear weather appropriate clothing, closed-toed shoes, and sunscreen. Bug spray is also recommended. Please bring a reusable water bottle and gardening/work gloves if you have them!

    For your first shift, please arrive at 7:45 for a quick orientation. Subsequent times please arrive for 8am.

    We have limited spots available for volunteers. If registration is not available, we have reached our limit for the day.

    Liability Waiver: I, my heirs and successors, do hereby voluntarily hold harmless and indemnify, release, waive and forever discharge Oakland Nature Preserve, Inc, its officers, board members, staff, representatives, successors, and assigns, from any and all liability.

    • Sat, June 06, 2020
    • 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM (EDT)
    • 0
    Registration is closed

    Currently, many of our volunteer activities involves actively participating in habitat restoration as we move towards our goal of restoring the area’s native longleaf pine and sand hill habitats, as well as general preserve maintenance. Volunteer duties may include but are not limited to removing invasive plants on many of our trails, trimming plants along our boardwalk, leaf-blowing the parking lot, boardwalk, and pavilion, and various other tasks including but not limited to clerical and office work.

    General info: Because these are outdoor activities, it’s important to wear weather appropriate clothing, closed-toed shoes, and sunscreen. Bug spray is also recommended. Please bring a reusable water bottle and gardening/work gloves if you have them!

    For your first shift, please arrive at 7:45 for a quick orientation. Subsequent times please arrive for 8am.

    We have limited spots available for volunteers. If registration is not available, we have reached our limit for the day.

    Liability Waiver: I, my heirs and successors, do hereby voluntarily hold harmless and indemnify, release, waive and forever discharge Oakland Nature Preserve, Inc, its officers, board members, staff, representatives, successors, and assigns, from any and all liability.

    • Sat, June 06, 2020
    • 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM (EDT)
    Register

     Led by entomologist Christy LeDuc, this is a fun, family suitable program where attendees will learn about different native insects of Florida. A different topic is featured each month. 

    What you can expect: The Program will start with a brief classroom presentation, following by a guided hike on the Preserve, where attendees have the opportunity to see bugs up close and personal!

    What to bring: Participants are advised to bring a reusable water bottle, wear closed toed shoes and weather appropriate clothing. Bug nets and containers will be provided. 

    Where to meet: In the classroom of the Education Center at 10am. 

    Members are free and $5 donations from non-members help support our programs. We have limited classroom space, so we ask visitors to please register in advance. Please check your email and the Facebook page for last-minute weather cancellations. 

    • Sat, June 13, 2020
    • 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM (EDT)
    • 0
    Registration is closed

    Currently, many of our volunteer activities involves actively participating in habitat restoration as we move towards our goal of restoring the area’s native longleaf pine and sand hill habitats, as well as general preserve maintenance. Volunteer duties may include but are not limited to removing invasive plants on many of our trails, trimming plants along our boardwalk, leaf-blowing the parking lot, boardwalk, and pavilion, and various other tasks including but not limited to clerical and office work.

    General info: Because these are outdoor activities, it’s important to wear weather appropriate clothing, closed-toed shoes, and sunscreen. Bug spray is also recommended. Please bring a reusable water bottle and gardening/work gloves if you have them!

    For your first shift, please arrive at 7:45 for a quick orientation. Subsequent times please arrive for 8am.

    We have limited spots available for volunteers. If registration is not available, we have reached our limit for the day.

    Liability Waiver: I, my heirs and successors, do hereby voluntarily hold harmless and indemnify, release, waive and forever discharge Oakland Nature Preserve, Inc, its officers, board members, staff, representatives, successors, and assigns, from any and all liability.

    • Mon, June 15, 2020
    • 9:00 AM (EDT)
    • Fri, June 19, 2020
    • 4:00 PM (EDT)
    • ONP
    • 0

    Week 1: Backbone Not Required                                                           

    What do snails, spiders, insects, and centipedes have in common? They've got no spine! Join us for a week of exploring the amazing world of these spineless creatures. Ages 6-12

     

    • Sat, June 20, 2020
    • 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM (EDT)
    • 0
    Registration is closed

    Currently, many of our volunteer activities involves actively participating in habitat restoration as we move towards our goal of restoring the area’s native longleaf pine and sand hill habitats, as well as general preserve maintenance. Volunteer duties may include but are not limited to removing invasive plants on many of our trails, trimming plants along our boardwalk, leaf-blowing the parking lot, boardwalk, and pavilion, and various other tasks including but not limited to clerical and office work.

    General info: Because these are outdoor activities, it’s important to wear weather appropriate clothing, closed-toed shoes, and sunscreen. Bug spray is also recommended. Please bring a reusable water bottle and gardening/work gloves if you have them!

    For your first shift, please arrive at 7:45 for a quick orientation. Subsequent times please arrive for 8am.

    We have limited spots available for volunteers. If registration is not available, we have reached our limit for the day.

    Liability Waiver: I, my heirs and successors, do hereby voluntarily hold harmless and indemnify, release, waive and forever discharge Oakland Nature Preserve, Inc, its officers, board members, staff, representatives, successors, and assigns, from any and all liability.

    • Mon, June 22, 2020
    • 9:00 AM (EDT)
    • Fri, June 26, 2020
    • 4:00 PM (EDT)
    • ONP
    • 0

    Week 2: The Nature of Minecraft                                                                         

    What can we learn from Minecraft IRL “in real life”?!? In this camp we will compare the Minecraft world to the real world, real world geology and biomes, relate survival mode to past human culture and technologies, and, of course, craft, build, and journey into the Nether! Ages 6-12

     

     

    • Sat, June 27, 2020
    • 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM (EDT)
    • 0
    Registration is closed

    Currently, many of our volunteer activities involves actively participating in habitat restoration as we move towards our goal of restoring the area’s native longleaf pine and sand hill habitats, as well as general preserve maintenance. Volunteer duties may include but are not limited to removing invasive plants on many of our trails, trimming plants along our boardwalk, leaf-blowing the parking lot, boardwalk, and pavilion, and various other tasks including but not limited to clerical and office work.

    General info: Because these are outdoor activities, it’s important to wear weather appropriate clothing, closed-toed shoes, and sunscreen. Bug spray is also recommended. Please bring a reusable water bottle and gardening/work gloves if you have them!

    For your first shift, please arrive at 7:45 for a quick orientation. Subsequent times please arrive for 8am.

    We have limited spots available for volunteers. If registration is not available, we have reached our limit for the day.

    Liability Waiver: I, my heirs and successors, do hereby voluntarily hold harmless and indemnify, release, waive and forever discharge Oakland Nature Preserve, Inc, its officers, board members, staff, representatives, successors, and assigns, from any and all liability.

    • Sat, June 27, 2020
    • 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM (EDT)
    • Lake Norris
    • 14
    Register

    Helena Run

    Need to rent a kayak? Kayaks are limited so please visit www.oaklandnaturepreserve.org/blue-hike to rent kayak before you register for hike.

     

    • Mon, June 29, 2020
    • 9:00 AM (EDT)
    • Fri, July 03, 2020
    • 4:00 PM (EDT)
    • ONP
    • 0

    Week 3: The Lorax, and more…                                                                 

    Once-lers and Bar-ba-loots, Swomee-Swans and Truffula fruits! Join us as we explore the natural world through the eyes of Dr. Seuss. Ages 5-12

     

     

    • Mon, July 06, 2020
    • 9:00 AM (EDT)
    • Fri, July 10, 2020
    • 4:00 PM (EDT)
    • ONP
    • 0

    Week 4: Squirrel-lock Holmes: Mystery at the Preserve                                  

    The Preserve needs your help in solving a mystery! Join Squirrel-lock Holmes and Dr. Spot-son to uncover clues, break codes, explore disguises, and more during this week of investigation and mystery.

    Ages 6-12

     

     

    • Mon, July 13, 2020
    • 9:00 AM (EDT)
    • Fri, July 17, 2020
    • 4:00 PM (EDT)
    • ONP
    • 0

    Week 5: Creatures of the Night                                                                         

    Explore bats, owls and more as we look into the creatures that go ‘bump’ in the night at the Preserve.

    Ages 6-12

     

     

    • Mon, July 20, 2020
    • 9:00 AM (EDT)
    • Fri, July 24, 2020
    • 4:00 PM (EDT)
    • ONP
    • 17

    Week 6: What’s your calling?                                                                           

    Are you considering a career in the environmental field? Join us for a week exploring environmental fobs such as water ecology, fire technology, public service, and more. This camp includes time in kayaks on Lake Apopka, and working with the ONP “Burn Boss.”

    Ages 13-17

     

     

    • Sat, October 10, 2020
    • 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM (EDT)
    • ONP

    Join us for a wonderful evening of food, drinks, music, and more. 

    This is event is for adults 21+, no children please.

Past events

Sat, May 23, 2020 Canceled - Blue Hike Kayak Tour 23 May 2020
Sat, May 23, 2020 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, May 18, 2020 Restoration Work Day - Wiregrass planting
Sat, May 16, 2020 Community Volunteer Day
Tue, May 12, 2020 Homeschool Class Series - canceled
Sat, May 09, 2020 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, May 04, 2020 CANCELED Restoration Work Day
Sat, May 02, 2020 CANCELED Insect Safari
Sat, May 02, 2020 CANCELED Community Volunteer Day
Sun, April 26, 2020 CANCELED Disney VoluntEARS Volunteer Day
Sat, April 25, 2020 CANCELED Community Volunteer Day
Mon, April 20, 2020 CANCELED Restoration Work Day
Sat, April 18, 2020 CANCELED Community Volunteer Day
Tue, April 14, 2020 Homeschool Class Series cancelled
Sat, April 11, 2020 Blue Hike Kayak Tour April 2020: CANCELLED
Sat, April 11, 2020 Community Volunteer Day CANCELLED
Wed, April 08, 2020 Story Time - cancelled
Mon, April 06, 2020 Restoration Work Day CANCELED
Sat, April 04, 2020 CANCELED - Insect Safari
Sat, March 28, 2020 Family Volunteer Day - Seed Bombs for Restoration CANCELED
Sat, March 21, 2020 PLT/PW Training
Sat, March 21, 2020 Blue Hike Kayak Tour March 2020
Sat, March 21, 2020 Community Volunteer Day CANCELED
Mon, March 16, 2020 Art in Nature Spring Break Camp
Mon, March 16, 2020 Restoration Work Day
Sat, March 14, 2020 Community Volunteer Day
Tue, March 10, 2020 Homeschool Class Series
Sat, March 07, 2020 Insect Safari
Sat, March 07, 2020 Blue Hike Kayak Tour Lake Norris March 7 2020
Sat, March 07, 2020 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, March 02, 2020 Restoration Work Day
Sat, February 29, 2020 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, February 24, 2020 Restoration Work Day
Sat, February 22, 2020 Blue Hike Kayak Tour February 2020
Sat, February 22, 2020 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, February 17, 2020 Presidents' Day Archery Camp
Mon, February 17, 2020 Restoration Work Day
Sat, February 15, 2020 Gopher Tortoise Run 3-miler on site run/walk
Sat, February 15, 2020 Community Volunteer Day
Wed, February 12, 2020 Story Time
Tue, February 11, 2020 Homeschool Class Series
Mon, February 10, 2020 Restoration Work Day
Sat, February 08, 2020 Insect Safari
Sat, February 08, 2020 Volunteer Day - WOHS JROTC
Mon, February 03, 2020 Restoration Work Day
Sat, February 01, 2020 Insect Safari
Sat, February 01, 2020 Volunteer Day - Dharma Inc. Youth Group
Sat, February 01, 2020 Gopher Tortoise Run - 3 Miler for Conservation
Mon, January 27, 2020 Restoration Work Day
Sat, January 25, 2020 Community Open House
Sat, January 25, 2020 Community Open House Volunteers
Mon, January 20, 2020 Restoration Work Day - Troop 210
Sat, January 18, 2020 Project Learning Tree
Sat, January 18, 2020 Community Volunteer Day
Thu, January 16, 2020 Brevard County Private Event
Tue, January 14, 2020 Homeschool Class Series
Mon, January 13, 2020 Restoration Work Day
Sat, January 11, 2020 Blue Hike Kayak Tour January 2020
Sat, January 11, 2020 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, January 06, 2020 Restoration Work Day
Sat, January 04, 2020 Insect Safari
Sat, January 04, 2020 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, December 30, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Mon, December 23, 2019 Restoration Work Day - Event Full
Sat, December 21, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, December 16, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, December 14, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Tue, December 10, 2019 Booking.com Volunteer Day
Mon, December 09, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, December 07, 2019 Insect Safari
Sat, December 07, 2019 Blue Hike Kayak Tour December 2019
Sat, December 07, 2019 Planting, Trail Life Volunteers only
Mon, December 02, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, November 30, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, November 25, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, November 23, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, November 18, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, November 16, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Wed, November 13, 2019 Story Time
Tue, November 12, 2019 Homeschool Class Series
Mon, November 11, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, November 09, 2019 Goin' Batty with Florida Bats
Sat, November 09, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, November 04, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, November 02, 2019 Insect Safari
Sat, November 02, 2019 Blue Hike Kayak Tour
Sat, November 02, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, October 28, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, October 26, 2019 3:00 Boat Tour
Sat, October 26, 2019 2:00 Boat Tour
Sat, October 26, 2019 1:00 Boat Tour
Sat, October 26, 2019 12:00 Boat Tour
Sat, October 26, 2019 11am Boat Tour
Sat, October 26, 2019 Oakland Heritage & Wildlife Festval
Sat, October 26, 2019 Heritage & Wildlife Festival Volunteer Day
Mon, October 21, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, October 19, 2019 Trunk or Treat
Sat, October 19, 2019 Blue Hike Kayak Tour: Cancelled
Sat, October 19, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, October 14, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, October 12, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Tue, October 08, 2019 Homeschool Class Series
Mon, October 07, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, October 05, 2019 Insect Safari
Sat, October 05, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, September 30, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Mon, September 23, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, September 21, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, September 16, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, September 14, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Tue, September 10, 2019 Homeschool Class Series
Mon, September 09, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, September 07, 2019 Insect Safari
Sat, September 07, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Sat, August 31, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, August 26, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, August 24, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, August 19, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, August 17, 2019 Community Volunteer Day
Mon, August 12, 2019 Restoration Work Day
Sat, August 03, 2019 Insect Safari
Mon, June 17, 2019 Summer Camp
Wed, June 12, 2019 Story Time

Florida Communities Trust Logo

Funding for the acquisition of this site was provided by the Florida Communities Trust using Preservation 2000 funds.

 

  

Call:
Office: +1 407-905-0054

Address:
P O Box 841

747 Machete Trail

Oakland, FL 34760

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software